Oktoberfest


Guten Morgen, meine Damen und Herren! I had plans to write something very clever in this post to make it seem like I did more in Germany than just go to Oktoberfest, but who am I kidding? I arrived in Munich on Friday to find half of the city’s population dressed in lederhosen and dirdls, going about their normal routines. It’s true, the culturally hardcore Bavarians wear the traditional German outfits during Oktoberfest as if they had thrown on a pair of jeans and a t-shirt.

We found a fabulous chocolate shop, complete with chocolate mushrooms and a man in lederhosen:

Next we went to lunch at a tiny, very old school restaurant where they only spoke Bavarian. We each had heaping plates of Semmelknödel. I have no pictures because we ate it too fast.

After the carbo-loading, we headed off to…drumroll…Oktoberfest! A sign in the subway said that we should get off one stop early because the stop near Oktoberfest was too crowded. We got off with the surging crowds in traditional garb to find a huge fair (I don’t know what I was expecting, but I did not expect this):

Then we rode this rollercoaster, which was one of the best rollercoaster experiences I’ve ever had (luckily, this was pre-beer drinking):

Then we made it into the Armbrustschützen Zelt, where beer only comes in one-liter servings. Today, our hands are swollen from where we held large beer glasses for four hours while standing on benches and swaying to a strange combination of German drinking songs, folk musics, and American oldies:

Prost!

Author: Hannah Johnson

When I first came to New York City, I almost ran over Liza Minelli with my suitcase. Then I got a job in book publishing.

One thought on “Oktoberfest”

Leave a Reply

