Stephen Colbert


might just be our next president! Ok, maybe not, but Republican polling firm Public Opinion Strategies conducted a survey and found that in the Democratic primary, 2.3% of respondents would vote for Colbert. This leaves Colbert only slightly behind Joe Biden (2.7%), and ahead of Bill Richardson, Dennis Kucinich, and Mike Gravel.

Colbert announced his campaign to run for president on his television show, The Colbert Report, on October 9th. He plans to run in both the Democratic and Republican primaries on a “favorite son of South Carolina” platform. Satirical as his campaign may be, Colbert is apparently kind of a candidate. He even appeared on Meet the Press on Sunday, October 21. Only in America.

Speaking of America and because this is supposed to be a book blog, Colbert’s campaign announcement came on the same day as the release of his book I Am America (And So Can You!). Here is an excerpt of this introduction:

I am not fan of books. And chances are, if you’re reading this, you and I share a healthy skepticism about the printed world. Well, I want you to know that this is the first book I’ve ever written, and I hope it’s the first book you’ve ever read. Don’t make a habit of it.

Coincidence? I think not, but let’s not criticize one man’s efforts to further brand himself as the political comedian, especially since he’s so hilarious. And to keep you laughing today, watch Stephen Colbert roast George Bush to his face during last year’s White House Correspondents Dinner.

Author: Hannah Johnson

When I first came to New York City, I almost ran over Liza Minelli with my suitcase. Then I got a job in book publishing.

Leave a Reply

