E-reading on the subway


The other day I saw a Sony eReader in person for the first time…in the hands of an intrepid subway-riding hipster no less. He had already decorated it with cool stickers to lend a touch of individuality to the plain black plastic. I tried to get a good look at the eReader and its patented e-ink, but the hipster in question was standing slightly behind me in the crowded subway. My view was somewhat obstructed, but this thing is admittedly cool. The words were so sharp and crisp that they seemed to float above the display screen. The device itself is very thin and portable, although the controls look like they are from circa 2001 portable CD player. My question is, how did this hipster get his hands on this eReader and what was he reading on it?

Author: Hannah Johnson

When I first came to New York City, I almost ran over Liza Minelli with my suitcase. Then I got a job in book publishing.

Leave a Reply

