Book party for Michael Krüger


The Goethe-Institut on the Upper East Side hosted a fabulous book party for Michael Krüger and the release of his book, The Executor, in English. The event, especially the speech that Krüger delivered, certainly inspired a bout of literary rapture (after refills of white wine and no dinner, I had to work hard to contain my excitement). As the publisher of Carl Hanser Verlag in Germany, Krüger is certainly an authority on all things literary. He encouraged American publishers to request more funding for translated literature and to remember their multi-cultural heritage.

Although my social circles only extend so far, I can say that the following people were present at this event: Barbara Epler and Declan Spring of New Directions, author of Susan Sontag: Geist und Glamour Daniel Schreiber, Siobhan O’Leary of Crown/Random House, several German journalists, and other New York literati. I don’t mean to leave anyone out, but I can be shy at these kinds events and don’t always get to meet everyone.

For my loyal readers, look for my upcoming post as I weigh in (along with several other bloggers) on the brand image of McSweeney’s.

Author: Hannah Johnson

When I first came to New York City, I almost ran over Liza Minelli with my suitcase. Then I got a job in book publishing.

One thought on “Book party for Michael Krüger”

Leave a Reply

