Race in America


I try to leave my personal political views out of this blog so that people can consider literary happenings without the clouded judgment of politics-inspired rage. I sometimes experience that and it taints my perspective.

However and in spite of the above statement, I will now proceed to tell you why I support Barack Obama for president. Obama represents a very tangible kind of change that our country needs. The L Magazine reports the following statistics:

Median income of a white Manhattan family with a child under 5: $284,208
Median income of a black Manhattan family with a child under 5: $31,171
Median income of a Latino Manhattan family with a child under 5: $25,467

If anyone thinks that race is not an issue in this country, they are absolutely wrong. Take half an hour to consider what Obama has to say about race in America and consider why you should vote for this.

Author: Hannah Johnson

When I first came to New York City, I almost ran over Liza Minelli with my suitcase. Then I got a job in book publishing.

Leave a Reply

