Electronic Newspaper Reader


Another e-reading device? Yes, it’s true. Plastic Logic will release an electronic newspaper reader on Monday complete with e-ink, wireless internet connection, lightweight build, blah blah blah. It sounds cool, but why would someone buy a device that is so one-dimensional? Would you own a Kindle and a newspaper reader and a smart phone and an MP3 player? Not if you can help it! Tech developers, we want one device that does all of those things.

As far as I know, the iPhone is the closest thing to the all-in-one device of our dreams. All it needs now is GPS and color e-ink, maybe on a flip-out screen. And a built-in Swiss Army knife. And a microchip that functions as your ID and credit card so you don’t have to carry a wallet.

Author: Hannah Johnson

When I first came to New York City, I almost ran over Liza Minelli with my suitcase. Then I got a job in book publishing.

One thought on “Electronic Newspaper Reader”

  1. I got a glimpse of this super thin plastic sheet that works as a newspaper, and I want one. I have never owned a laptop. They do not make sense for me. I access my news via the web, but something I could hold like a paper would be a big deal. Specifically I would like to buy the full version of the New York Times. It cannot be comfortably read at a computer terminal. It is as thick as a book. They sell a complete (Every word) version for just $14.95 a month.If you are writing about what I saw on TV, then I think it will be way better than any other product available. My phone does enough, but it is hard as hell to read.I found your site while looking for a way to buy Plastic Logic’s reader. Thanks for your help.

Leave a Reply

