Michael Crighton


The news of Michael Crighton’s death took me by surprise this morning. I paused midway through eating my overcooked egg to reflect on Crighton. My first encounter with his writing was when my third grade teacher read Jurrasic Park to us aloud in class. It might have been a bit to early, because my only memory of the book is a scene where a guy’s guts get ripped out by a dinosaur. Disturbing as this early image was, I got over it and even went on to read other books by Crighton. I also became an avid “ER” viewer in high school (the George Cloony and Julianna Margulies era). Sad to think that we will never get to read the new Michael Crighton book again.

Obits from the Guardian and New York Times.

Author: Hannah Johnson

When I first came to New York City, I almost ran over Liza Minelli with my suitcase. Then I got a job in book publishing.

Leave a Reply

